Collision detection scope with multiple lua files.

Hi all,

I'm new to Lua, only started about 4 days ago. I'm not new to programming though.

I've been working on a moderately simple game, of the vertical shooter sort like Galaga etc.

I noticed a strange bug in my code, basically I have several files, main which I use to load up backgrounds/sounds etc which I also wish to use to handle collisions. I also have a file pow which I use to create power ups for use in the game. Currently I'm implementing a speedup power up, simply on collision between the player and the image of the power up.

This is my current code in this class:

module(..., package.seeall);
function new()                                          
                                require "sprite";
                                local sheetSpeed = sprite.newSpriteSheet( "Media/Images/speedSheet.png", 59,66);
                                local spriteSetSpeed = sprite.newSpriteSet(sheetSpeed, 1, 2); -- two frames.
                                sprite.add( spriteSetSpeed, "flash", 1, 2, 200, 0 ); -- play 2 frames every 500 ms

local speedUp = sprite.newSprite( spriteSetSpeed );
                                speedUp.myName = "speed";
                                speedUp.x = _W/2; speedUp.y = 0;
                                physics.addBody(speedUp, { isSensor = true });

speedUp:prepare("flash");
                                speedUp:play();

speedUp:setLinearVelocity(0,100);

speedUp.collision = speedCollision
                                speedUp:addEventListener( "collision", speedUp );
                        --end
end

function speedCollision( self, event ) -- Self is the power up in this case. Other is the player.
                if(event.phase == "began") then
                        if(event.other.myName == "Flyer") then
                                audio.play(power_sound);
                                print( self.myName .. ": collision began with " .. event.other.myName )